Kauai Regions Guide Image

Explore Kauai by Region

There is much talk, if not controversy, about how to split up Kaua'i by region so that we can easily describe the island on a website such as this. Why the debate you ask? Well, Kaua'i, like all the Hawaiian islands, is part of a county politically divided into several districts, clockwise: Hanalei, Kawaihau, Lihue, Koloa, and Waimea. Quite honestly, to the modern-day traveler, these districts serve no purpose.

The remedy then is to find a way to divide the island into segments that are easy to recognize, describe, and access via the major roads of the island. This is where much of the debate comes from. Every "expert" has their way of dissecting the island into pieces.

Our way is pretty simple, and the method we've followed online mirrors the format we've utilized in our physical guidebooks and eBooks too. Ultimately we've divided the island in a manner that helps us group attractions together so that they are easily accessible along the major routes of the island. This allows us to use our mile by mile directions to quickly and accurately describe each spot here on our website.

Recommended Kauai Tours