Maui Regions Guide Image

Explore Maui by Region

There is much debate about how to split up an island like Maui by region so we can describe it on a website such as this. Why the controversy you ask? Well, Maui, like all the Hawaiian islands, is part of a county politically divided into several districts, clockwise: Lahaina, Wailuku, Makawao, and Hana. Since Molokai and Lanai are also technically inside Maui county, they are also districts, but we're ignoring them here. Quite honestly, to the modern-day traveler, these districts serve no purpose.

The remedy then is to find a way to divide the island into segments that are easy to recognize, describe, and access via the major roads of the island. This is where much of the debate comes from. Every "expert" has their own way of dissecting the island into pieces.

Our way is pretty simple, and the method we've followed online mirrors the format we've utilized in our physical guidebooks and eBooks too. Ultimately we've divided the island in a manner that helps us group attractions together so that they are easily accessible along the major routes of the island. This allows us to use our mile by mile directions to quickly and accurately describe each spot here on our website.

John Derrick
Published on: 07-10-2019
Published by: John C. Derrick
Recommended Maui Tours